**insert band name here**
you know it, i know it. fuck its a sad thing when bands break up but at least that means they cant come out with a shit record after they have peaked. if ampere decided to come out with a pop album and go against everything they stood for tomorrow would anyone notice or would we all look the other way and just say they had a differ of musical opinion and accept it. no. fuck no. although the thought of ampere doing the pop music thing might be amazing still you get the idea. there are these bands stand for something that when we grow up listening to and we worship, we plan on getting them tattooed on our body, we know every fucking song by heart and when we are too young to go to the shows every time they come to our state a little part of us dies inside. then we grow up or the bands break up or they change their style. lets take daughers, their previous project as the suns sets was one of my favorites and the daughts self titled 7inch remains to be one of my favorite musical releases to date (althought i now regret giving it to a so called friend, neither here nor there) but after releasing a badass demo and an even more killer full length the "decide that screaming is too popular and they wanna sing in drawn out rumbles like an old man calling bingo numbers whos had too many bloody marries. i mean WHAT?! screaming is now too popular so we wont do it anymore? fuck that. when i first got into music i had no idea what i was getting myself into, my first real show was jiyuna, the anchorite four, the holy mountain, and horse the band, it blew my fucking mind. i had no idea, and there was no turning back. when i joined blue skies over headlights the then later we'll dance like ghosts on rooftops and i would see kids come to shows just to see us or even bands start because of us i did not once think, "hey fuck we are getting trendy lets fucking bail" we screamed till we couldnt breath and then some, we were boys, we were growing up and learning love the hard fucking way and we wanted everyone within ears reach to fucking hear it. it didnt matter how many myspace hits we got, or if we got on a fucking label or anything, we did it because we fucking loved it and it died because we grew up, not because it became twisted into something mangled no longer representing its original form like i see so many times these days. i honestly feel bad for those old dudes who got metallica tattoos back in the day and were like "METAL FOREVER" or better yeah the dudes with the blink182 tattoos that now see the gods they once worshiped apart of something they would never have imagined. what am i saying? what’s the fucking point to all of this? good music should either burn out or explode, never change its values for popularity, and never under any circumstance change for anything other than that they fucking want to. maybe that makes me a fool, maybe not. but if you listen to old daughers then pop in their most recent release you will see what im saying. same with the locust, the number12, and countless other bands. change can be good, fuck i loved it when thee oh sees changed from john dwyers solo weird lofi shit to a full band but that doesn’t mean every time a fucking band changes its good. i just miss when music meant something more to me, when a song could make me cry, and when i could play a song that made others cry. music is everything people, so stop fucking it up.
maybe this is me just being upset about life or maybe im just looking back at how things used to be, where the shows were about fucking music and emotions and fellowship. not getting wasted and being more punk rock than the others. i hate it when i see something that was once so beautiful twisted, as far as my own towns concerned. people i once called "friend" who cant look me in the eye, its my fault, i am apart to blame for this machine that is runing downhill. i will be the first to admit ive made my share of mistakes and ive done my wrong, but fuck there needs to be a change. fuck elitism, live your life to the fullest, and play music with everythig you fucking have inside you, who cares if its in tune, if anyone is watching, or if you ever get anywhere. my name is nathan acevedo and i am a recovering heroin addict.
here is a few bands ive been listening to recently while not playing pokemon or jailbreaking my iphone and trying my best not to make it explode.
Parabstruse - Back and Forth EP
this one man band does some of the most amazing instermental music around, he releases all his stuff for free via his myspace so look him up, you might also enjoy some of his other side projects that are pretty insane.
one half the unicorns, on ex the arcade fire. need i fucking say more. amazing.
this is one of those cds that i have just enjoyed for years. something that i have no matter what kept it in my ipod at all times regardless of needing to clean out old albums. mum is minamalistic icelandic (sp?) glory with a female vocalst that sounds like an old woman mixed with a young girl, cant get much better than that id say.
barkbarkbark - noose and a fire ep
this was when one of my all time favorite bands decided to break up and become a solo project, one of his first releases jaccob cooper released under his new adopted name was the noose and a fire ep, it wasnt much in comparassion to the old stuff but you see what he was going for. ironically enough i was going to get a barkbarkbark tattoo right before they decided to change musical sounds and directions, ironic to this post no?
Avey Tare & Kría Brekkan - Pullhair Rubeye (Forward)
frontman of the much beloved by me animal collective and his wife the singer for mum decided to do a musical colab and release the entire album in reverse, this is a fan verson where they switched it and made it play forward which i enjoy alot more. i love this release alot.
just so you can understand the power this band once had and how they could thow it all away because of a fear of being seen as "too trendy" fuck egos.
park ranger barkwood - we are not brothers
two nice dudes from orlando that i recently saw at house of cats playing 90s style emo/screamo stuff but with a twist. sloppy but powerful and gets the point across, great live!
i am going to have to go against almost all my friends in saying this but before seeing him live i was not a fan of Phil Elverum or his previous band the microphones. but once i saw him live it all made sence to me. this is his newest release and i cant get enough of it.
i hope you enjoyed a few of the cds i shared, no covers anymore because im lazy but i hope to get the whole video thing up and working. also if you would like a copy of my script that me and my friends will be filming that i wrote and will direct shoot me an email. thanks <3!

No comments:
Post a Comment